The postcode area is the largest geographical unit used and forms the initial characters of the UK postcode. There are currently 120 postcode areas in use in the United Kingdom and a further 3 often combined with these covering the Crown Dependencies of Jersey, Guernsey and Isle of Man

Postcode areas per country

Complete list of UK postcode areas

Postcode area Area covered UK region Country
AB Aberdeen Scotland
B Birmingham West Midlands England
BA Bath South West England
BB Blackburn North West England
BD Bradford North West England
BH Bournemouth South West England
BL Bolton North West England
BN Brighton South East England
BR Bromley Greater London England
BS Bristol South West England
BT Northern Ireland Northern Ireland
CA Carlisle North West England
CB Cambridge East of England England
CF Cardiff Wales
CH Chester Wales England
CM Chelmsford East of England England
CO Colchester East of England England
CR Croydon South East England
CT Canterbury South East England
CV Coventry West Midlands England
CW Crewe North West England
DA Dartford South East England
DD Dundee Scotland
DE Derby West Midlands England
DG Dumfries and Galloway Scotland
DH Durham North East England
DL Darlington North East England
DN Doncaster Yorkshire and the Humber England
DT Dorchester South West England
DY Dudley West Midlands England
E East London Greater London England
EC Central London Greater London England
EH Edinburgh Scotland
EN Enfield East of England England
EX Exeter South West England
FK Falkirk and Stirling Scotland
FY Blackpool North West England
G Glasgow Scotland
GL Gloucester South West England
GU Guildford South East England
HA Harrow Greater London England
HD Huddersfield Yorkshire and the Humber England
HG Harrogate Yorkshire and the Humber England
HP Hemel Hempstead South East England
HR Hereford Wales England
HS Outer Hebrides Scotland
HU Hull Yorkshire and the Humber England
HX Halifax Yorkshire and the Humber England
IG Ilford Greater London England
IP Ipswich East of England England
IV Inverness Scotland
KA Kilmarnock Scotland
KT Kingston upon Thames South East England
KW Kirkwall Scotland
KY Kirkcaldy Scotland
L Liverpool North West England
LA Lancaster North West England
LD Llandrindod Wells Wales
LE Leicester East Midlands England
LL Llandudno Wales
LN Lincoln East Midlands England
LS Leeds Yorkshire and the Humber England
LU Luton South East England
M Manchester North West England
ME Rochester South East England
MK Milton Keynes South East England
ML Motherwell Scotland
N North London Greater London England
NE Newcastle upon Tyne North East England
NG Nottingham East Midlands England
NN Northampton East Midlands England
NP Newport Wales
NR Norwich East of England England
NW North West London Greater London England
OL Oldham North West England
OX Oxford South West England
PA Paisley Scotland
PE Peterborough East Midlands England
PH Perth Scotland
PL Plymouth South West England
PO Portsmouth South East England
PR Preston North West England
RG Reading South East England
RH Redhill South East England
RM Romford East of England England
S Sheffield Yorkshire and the Humber England
SA Swansea Wales
SE South East London Greater London England
SG Stevenage East of England England
SK Stockport North West England
SL Slough South East England
SM Sutton South East England
SN Swindon South West England
SO Southampton South East England
SP Salisbury South West England
SR Sunderland North East England
SS Southend-on-Sea East of England England
ST Stoke-on-Trent West Midlands England
SW South West London Greater London England
SY Shrewsbury Wales England
TA Taunton South West England
TD Galashiels Scotland
TF Telford West Midlands England
TN Tonbridge South East England
TQ Torquay South West England
TR Truro South West England
TS Cleveland North East England
TW Twickenham South East England
UB Southall Greater London England
W West London Greater London England
WA Warrington North West England
WC Central London Greater London England
WD Watford East of England England
WF Wakefield Yorkshire and the Humber England
WN Wigan North West England
WR Worcester West Midlands England
WS Walsall West Midlands England
WV Wolverhampton West Midlands England
YO York Yorkshire and the Humber England
ZE Lerwick Scotland